Deleting personal data in Calendly

Overview

Calendly allows you to delete personal identifiable information (PII) directly from your settings, without needing to contact support. By managing your customer and employee deletion requests, your company can stay compliant with privacy rules and regulations.

GDPR and CCPA compliant

Calendly’s deletion process is in accordance with both the European Union General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) and the California Consumer Privacy Act (CCPA). The guidelines are as follows:

  • GDPR deletion guidelines: Within 30 days of your request, your PII in sub-processors will be deleted, as identified by Calendly’s Compliance team.
  • CCPA deletion guidelines: Your PII in sub-processors will be deleted, as identified by Calendly’s Compliance team.

For more details on how Calendly complies with GDPR, view How does Calendly honor my data rights?

Types of data to delete

About invitee data deletion

Deleting invitee data
Scenario Your customer requests that you delete their data.
Ways to delete data
  • For selected invitees: enter invitee email addresses
  • For all invitees: specify a data range
Who can delete data Owners and admins on any Calendly plan
Data deleted from Your organization’s Calendly instance
Results
  • Invitee name is deleted.
  • Invitee email and domain is anonymized.
    • For example, invitee email will display as 1e99adf8a31ad9@deleted.calendly.com.
  • Invitee questions and answers are deleted.
  • See image in Once data is deleted.

How to delete invitee data

Before you begin...

  • You must be a Calendly owner or admin.
  • If you’re not an owner or admin, visit your People page to find an owner or admin to contact.

To delete specific invitee data by email address

  1. In Calendly, select Account, then Organization Settings.
  2. Select Data deletion.
  3. Under Delete specific invitee information, enter the email for the invitee (customer) you’d like to delete. If entering more than one email, use a comma to separate each email.
    Note: You can enter up to 100 invitee emails at a time.
  4. Select Delete, then select Yes.

To delete all invitee data within a date range

  1. In Calendly, select Account, then Organization Settings.
  2. Select Data deletion.
  3. Under Delete information within a period of time, select your chosen date range and select Apply.
  4. Select Delete, then select Yes.

Once you’ve made a request

On the Data deletion page, a log of invitee data deletion requests will show under Data deletion records.

image__13_.png

Image 1 - Data deletion records

To cancel a data deletion request

Once you request to delete invitee data, Calendly will process the deletion within 7 days of the request. To cancel a pending data request, click ‘Cancel’ in the row of the request on the data deletion history table..

Note that once data has been deleted, it cannot be recovered.


About Calendly user data deletion

Deleting Calendly user data
Scenarios You want to delete data for your account. You want to delete data for an employee.
Ways to delete data Self-delete your Calendly account Delete other users' Calendly accounts
Who can delete data All users can delete their own accounts. Note: If an owner deletes their own account, they will automatically disband the organization, but users will not be deleted. Owners and admins can delete accounts that were created upon joining their organization. Note: They cannot delete pre-existing Calendly accounts.
Data deleted from
  • Your organization’s Calendly instance. PII removed from:
    • Scheduled events
    • Invitees
    • Event types
    • Organization and teams
    • Integrations
  • User directories
  • Calendly email newsletters
  • Customer relationship management tools
  • Data lakes
  • All sub-processors that Calendly uses

How to delete user data in your Calendly account

To self-delete your Calendly account

  1. In Calendly, select Account, then select Account Settings.
  2. From the Profile page, scroll down and select Delete Account.
  3. Select a reason for deleting your account.
  4. Optionally, enter anything else you'd like to share.
  5. Select Delete.

To disband your organization’s Calendly instance (for owners)

As an owner, deleting your account will disband your Calendly organization:

  • All users will be removed, but will not be deleted.
  • Users will have their own free, solo account.
  • All teams will be deleted.

To delete your account, follow the steps in To self-delete your Calendly account. Users can follow these same steps to delete their own accounts.

To remove and delete a Calendly user (for owners and admins)

For step-by-steps, view Remove active members. Depending on when a user created their account, you may not be able to delete them. For more details, view the notes in Remove active members.

To delete a user with SCIM enabled

As an owner or admin with a SCIM-enabled account, you must remove users via your identity provider. With SCIM enabled, you cannot remove users from the Admin Management page.

Within your identity provider, you may have the option to deactivate or delete a user. Consult your identity provider’s documentation for more details.


Once data is deleted

Deleted data in Calendly

The deleted PII will display in Calendly as:

Data_delete_-_invitee_info.png

Image 2 - Deleted data in Calendly